Home » Google Apps » G Suite » Wrapping up the School Year with Google Apps

Wrapping up the School Year with Google Apps

Wrapping up the school year with Google Apps Google Classroom End of Year procedures TeachingForward blog post header
End of Year Procedures for Google Classroom

As we turn the calendar to June, it’s time to start to think about housekeeping for your Google stuff.  Teachers and students who are regular users of Google Classroom should know how to clear away their classes at the end of the school year so they have a fresh and clean Google Classroom dashboard in the fall.  Check out the video below to learn how teachers can archive their classes at the end of the year to make way for the new school year.

 

Teachers Archive Classes but can Re-Use Posts:

Worried you might want some of your old class information?  No problem!  Teachers can “archive” classes to make room for new ones.  Archived classes remain available to teachers so that they can retrieve posts as needed the following year.  Teachers often ask me if they can simply re-use their current Google Classes for the following school year.  It’s not recommended because all of your due dates, not to mention students will be different.  Try out the “Re-Use Post” feature which allows you to retrieve previous assignments, even from classes you archive, so that you can quickly pop them into new classes.  To re-use a post from a previous year:

  1. Click + Re-Use Post
  2. Select a Class to re-use a post from
  3. Select the Post to use – NOTE: If you have attachments that you want to give a copy to each student, be sure to click the box in the bottom right corner that says “Create New Copies of All Attachments”.
Archiving classes in Google Classroom & re-using posts in Google Classroom

Students Can Un-Enroll from Classes:  

If a teacher doesn’t archive their class, students may want to remove classes from their Google Classroom Dashboard at the end of the school year to make way for new classes in the fall.  To do so, from the home screen where the tiles for each class appear, click the 3 dots and choose “unenroll”.  

Options for Moving Google Drive Files for Graduating Seniors

Take Google Drive contents with you!  If you are a teacher leaving your current school to take on a new role or a student graduating from the district, Google Takeout moving files TeachingForward blog post imageyou’ll want to take your Google Drive contents with you!  Google TakeOut is a service that allows you to create a copy of your Google data and move it to a personal Google account.  This is perfect if your account will no longer be available to your due to a job change or graduation for students.  
  1. Navigate to google.com/takeout
  2. If you aren’t already logged in, you will need to login to the account you want to download data from
  3. Click SELECT NONE to de-select all of the Google tools.  Select ONLY the data you want to include.  I suggest doing this only for Google Drive.  Although you can download other data, such as gmail, the procedure for moving it into a personal account varies.
  4. Click NEXT to continue
  5. Choose how you want to export your archive.  If you opt for email of a *.zip file (compressed file format), the file will be sent to the account you created the archive for.  You would then download it to a computer, unzip it and then upload it to your personal Google account.  Alternatively, you can add Drive content directly to other cloud storage services such as Dropbox or OneDrive.

 

7 comments

  1. Hi
    Thanx for the tutorial. I have a question, when a class is archived or when a student uninroals from a class, what happens to all the files?

  2. All of the files will remain in Drive. File ownership can vary depending on how teachers handle the digital workflow in Google Classroom. For example, when work is sent out via Classroom assignment, it is “owned” by the teacher and students are “editors” to the files. If work is “Turned In” electronically by students, ownership switches to the teacher and the student becomes a “view only” collaborator to the file until the teacher returns the work digitally (graded or not) at which point, ownership reverts back to the student. Hope that helps.

  3. Hi,
    I want to use the same classroom code for my google classroom from year to year. If I archive my files and delete my students, will the classroom stream appear “new” for the kids? If not, how do I clear the stream for all of last years assignments without losing them in my drive? Thanks!

  4. Hi Kate,
    You cannot unless you use the same class which I don’t recommend. Can I ask why it would matter if you had a new code each year? Are you aware that when you archive classes, all of those assignments stay in Drive AND you can use the “re-use post” option when adding to the Stream and grab a post from the previous year so you don’t have to re-type all of the instructions.

    -Jenn

  5. Ok, good to know. As a block, we all used google classroom this year and linked it to the google calendar. If we change the class code, will we need to re-link the calendar? Our thought in keeping the codes the same, we would avoid extra work in needing to re-set up our Google calendar where we link all of our assignments together. I hope that makes sense! So, in your opinion, it’s better to archive all classes (drop the students too?), and just start fresh with a new class code each year? Thanks for your help!!!

  6. Kate,
    Best practice is to archive classes. Will help your kids because that will remove last year’s classes from their home view so they can stay more organized but won’t remove files from Drive. As far as calendar, here is a post with info about how to do that again if you need a refresher: https://teachingforward.net/2016/05/08/making-google-classroom-calendar-public-for-parents/ Also, stay tuned for Classroom updates due to be released around the start of the school year. You can subscribe via email (see option on right sidebar) to be alerted of new posts (approx every 2 weeks) so you don’t miss it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*