Organizing “Shared with Me” Files/Folders
Google Drive users love the ability to share files and folders with collaborators, however, keeping Google Drive organized can be difficult. This is particularly true for files or folders that are shared with you. The “Shared with Me” section of Google Drive lists items in date order which leads to frustration when people go looking for shared files. To add to the difficulty, files and folders located in “Shared with Me” cannot be retrieved using Drive’s powerful search tool. Many regular Drive users remain unaware that “Shared with Me” files can be added to and organized in your Google Drive using the “Add to Drive” option.
Not a Copy
Using the “Add to Drive” option for shared or View only files (or folders), allows you to place the file (or folder) into your Drive in a location that makes sense for you. Some important things to understand about “Add to Drive” feature:
- It does not create a copy of the file/folder
- It is a link back to the actual file (or folder), so that it is always the most up to date version
- It does not move the file/folder for collaborators, so no need to worry that you will cause a problem for others sharing the file
- If you have “Edit” permissions on the file/folder that you “Add to Drive” then any changes you make, such as edits to a file, adding new items into a shared folder, will be reflected for all collaborators of that file/folder.
Adding Individual Files from a Shared Folder
When folders are shared with you, these can also be added to your Drive. If your goal is to move only certain files within a shared folder into your Drive, you will need to do so using the “Shift” + “z” command to “Add to” another folder, so that you do not inadvertently remove files for other collaborators.
Video Tutorial – Organizing Shared with Me Files in Google Drive
To learn more about how to organize shared files, take a look at the Organizing Shared with Me tutorial video.